When was the last time Spurs won a trophy?

When did Spurs last win a trophy?

Spurs last won a trophy on 24th February 2008 where they beat Chelsea 2-1 at Wembley Stadium to win the League Cup. It was the fourth time that Tottenham Hotspur had won the League Cup.

It was the first League Cup Final to be played at the new Wembley Stadium and was the first League Cup Final to be played in England since 2000, when the old iconic Wembley Stadium was demolished to make way for the new home of football.

The League Cup was known at the time as the Carling Cup due to a lucrative sponsorship deal with Carling. It was the first time Spurs had won a trophy since the 1998/99 season where they won the League Cup in a 1-0 win of Leicester City – ending their trophy absence of 9 years.

Leage Cup Final 2008 Programme Cover

The matchday programme from Chelsea vs Spurs

How did Spurs win their last trophy?

Spurs overcame the odds to defeat a Chelsea side, that, at the time, were a dominant force in English football.

Chelsea scored first in the League Cup Final between Spurs and Chelsea through the talismanic Didier Drogba.  His free-kick in the 34th minute meant he was the first player to have scored in 3 League Cup Finals as reported by The Independent.

Spurs equalised through a Dimitar Berbatov penalty in the 68th minute after Wayne Bridge was judged to have handled the ball. The goal sent the League Cup Final into extra-time where Spurs would go on to win the trophy. A Jonathan Woodgate header 3 minutes into extra time from a Jermaine Jenas proved to be the difference between Spurs and Chelsea and Spurs would go on to lift the League Cup. This is the last time Spurs have won a major trophy.

Winning the League Cup Trophy for Tottenham Spurs meant that they would qualify for EUFA Cup qualification (now the Europa League) – a trophy they have won 2 times previously. That season, Spurs finished 11th in the Premier League so without winning this trophy, they would not have qualified for the UEFA Cup.

Who played for Spurs the last time they won a trophy?

When Spurs defeated Chelsea in the League Cup final to win their last trophy the team was as followed:

  • Paul Robinson (goalkeeper)
  • Pascal Chimbonda
  • Ledley King (Spurs captain)
  • Jonathan Woodgate
  • Alan Hutton
  • Steed Malbranque
  • Didier Zokora
  • Jermaine Jenas
  • Aaron Lennon
  • Robbie Keane
  • Dimitar Berbatov

The Spurs substitues for the game were:

  • Radek Cerny (goalkeeper)
  • Younes Kaboul
  • Teemu Taino
  • Tom Huddlestone
  • Darren Bent

Source: BBC News

Spurs v Chelsea Teams Carling Cup Final

The teams lining up in the Carling Cup Final

Who did Spurs beat to win their last trophy?

Spurs beat Chelsea in the League Cup Final but Spurs’ journey to the last time they won a trophy was a special one for Tottenham Hotspur fans.

Tottenham defeated Middlesbrough 2-0 in the 3rd round of the League Cup and then went on to beat Blackpool 2-0 in the 4th round.

Spurs were handed a tougher draw in the 5th round of the Carling Cup against Manchester City but they came through victorious, beating the Citizens 2-0 away from home at the Etihad Stadium.

Then Spurs were drawn against bitter North London rivals, Arsenal in the semi-final. Tottenham managed to get a 1-1 draw with Arsenal in the first leg of the semi at the Emirates meaning the second leg was set up to be a classic. It was a match that has gone down in Spurs history.

Spurs beat Arsenal 5-1 in the second leg in what was one of Spurs’ biggest wins of rivals Arsenal. The win secured their place in the League Cup final. Goals from Jermaine Jeans, Robbie Keane, Aaron Lennon, Steed Malbranque and an own goal from Niklas Bendtner sealed a historic win for Spurs in one of the clubs most important games in recent years under the lights at White Hart Lane.

Who was the manager when Spurs won their last trophy?

Juande Ramos was the Spurs manager the last time they won a trophy. The Spanish manager spent 1 year at Spurs where he won the League Cup. Although the cup run will be forever remembered my Spurs fans, Ramos lost his job not long into the following season after poor Premier League form. He left Spurs in 2008 to become manager of Real Madrid.

Our Spurs ticketsand hospitality packages are available for all Spurs upcoming home matches at the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium this season.

Also, be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date with the latest ticket information and sign up for our regular Spurs Newsletter for all things Tottenham Hotspur!