When did the Spurs logo change?
Spurs have changed their logo four times. The first altercation came in 1956. The second change took place in 1983, and Tottenham changed to the club logo it currently has today in 2006.
The Spurs emblem has portrayed a cockerel since the FA Cup final in 1921. The legend dictates that Harry Hotspur, after whom the club is named, had a certain fondness for fighting cocks. In 1956 the Spurs logo included two red lions, the cockerel, a castle, and a collection of trees on the backdrop of a blue shield. The two lions represented the Northumberland Family, of which Harry Hotspur belonged to. The castle is named Bruce Castle and is a local historical structure located near the stadium. The trees on the shield represent the Seven Sisters. The motto, inscribed at the bottom of the emblem, reads ‘Audere Est Facere’ which translates from Latin as ‘To dare is to do’. This has been the club’s motto ever since.
The Tottenham badge was then altered again in 1983. The blue shield was removed, as were the castle and trees. The motto was placed on the upon the backdrop of a yellow scroll that lay beneath the fighting cockerel, of which perched over a ball containing the letters ‘THFC’.
Modernising the Spurs logo and brand
The Spurs logo underwent a rebrand in 2006. The red lions and the motto were removed from the crest. The badge now shows the cockerel perching on the top of a football, with the words ‘Tottenham Hotspur’ underneath. This is the badge that is still used today.